Here are the reasons I want to see Magic Mike, Channing Tatum’s male stripper movie:

 

  • It’s directed by Stephen Soderbergh, who has a) been on a hot streak recently and b) is supposedly about to retire. Both of those things make me feel the man should get some of my cash.
  • I think the idea of a male stripper movie is subversive considering the current social culture, but the fact that the movie exists suggests we are moving to a place where this kind of thing will be less and less unusual. That is cool.

All my high-minded bullshit aside, I was all set to see this movie until I saw this ad at the gym the other day.

Clearly, I am not this movie’s targeted demo.

I am not secure enough in my manhood to see this movie in theaters. This commercial has proven that to me. I need to go with a giant group of friends or by myself in a part of town where no one knows me.

Jeeze. Man.

Damn you, ladies night.

