We’re 45 days into 2015. Here are the albums I suggest you catch up on from the last month and a half.

Rae Sremmurd – SremmLife
I’m not sure if it’s the accelerated culture in which we live, or if this album just doesn’t have the staying power that I expected it would, but when I saw this on my list, it felt like this album came out 100 years ago. I don’t think that Rae Sremmurd are going to be the group of the future or anything, but songs like “Unlock the Swag” and “This Could Be Us” are as exciting as anything happening in mainstream radio rap.

Panda Bear – Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper
Panda Bear’s third album is a little more accessible than his last, and freed of his wunderkind blog buzz, his pop sensibility are all the more stark and appealing. Grim Reaper is the cloud-pop album I’ve been waiting to not hate for years now.

The Sidekicks – Runners in the Nerved World
The Sidekicks continue their transformation from cowpunks to Weezer disciples on their latest, which is a sharply written album about courage, fear, and being emotional. I couldn’t be prouder of how this band has been developing, and songs like “The Kid Who Broke His Wrist” show that the group can do more than just punch you in the stomach.

Viet Cong – Viet Cong
Keep post-punk weird. Keep post-punk droney. Keep post-punk sounding like New Order.

Sleater Kinney – No Cities to Love
I didn’t even realize that I missed Sleater Kinney until I heard No Cities to Love. Not sure if it’s age or time off, but taking a step back from the expansive reach of The Woods and pairing it back to just being a punk band makes Sleater Kinney sound more vital than ever.

Lupe Fiasco – Tetsuo & Youth
Lupe’s most recent album is almost more impressive than it is good. It’s a rapper’s rap album; loaded to the gills with experimental production and seemingly endless bars, it’s the clearest example of Fiasco’s outright rapping abilities since The Cool.

toyGuitar – In This Mess
Between In This Mess, the most recent Legendary Wings album and the first Pujol album, I’ll never need another rural garage-punk record again. Every toyGuitar song is better than the last.

Title Fight – Hyperview
I don’t know a ton about Title Fight, but through osmosis and obersvation of punk Twitter’s reaction to the album, Hyperview is more droning and hazy than the band’s usual output. For me, it scratches the same itch that Yo La Tengo does, and that makes it more than worthy of time.

Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
I haven’t heard an album this cutting and sarcastic since the heyday of Future of the Left. Father John Misty has made a classic Elton John record and filled it with vitriol for the modern era, and I cannot get enough of it.

