2018 Q1 Supurlatives

I think I’ve only really listened to rock albums this first three months of the year. Leaning into my dad-rock future, I guess.

Slightly Overrated, Still Good Album: Superchunk’s What a Time to be Alive

On the one hand, What a Time to be Alive has some of the fastest, catchiest songs of the new Superchunk era. On the other hand, I have real concerns about how well Trump-era music sounds 10 years from now. Someone’s got to take the long view on this shit.

Runner up: Jeff Rosenstock’s Post-

See above; add ambient experiments. Me, I don’t mind ’em, but I’m also in the bag for Rosenstock (and I really like Stars of LID).

Best Good Times Rock Song: “I’ll Make You Sorry” by Screaming Females

This is how you do riffs without being all dick-wagging about it.

Runner up: “Death Camp Fantasy” by Hot Snakes

Admittedly, you’ll have to stretch the meaning of “good times” to make this one work.

Best Sad Times Rock Song: “Number One (In New York)” by Titus Andronicus

A Productive Cough is a ponderous album that I have conflicted thoughts about (it sounds like a mid-era Springsteen-tired-of-working-with-the-E-Street-Band record, which I think is ultimately a good thing, going by the arc of history, but doesn’t necessarily make it an essential album for anyone but the true obsessives). That said, if Titus Andronicus is playing anything from this album at a live show a decade from now, it’ll be “Number One (In New York),” and that is because it rules.

Runner up: “Take Everything” by Ought

Most songs that have parts that sound like air-raid sirens are pretty well in tune with the bad times.

Top 5 Albums of the First Three Months of 2018 in no Particular Order:

Lemuria – Recreational Hate
Shame – Songs of Praise
Salad Boys – This is Glue
Turnstile – Time & Space
Hot Snakes – Jericho Sirens

https://open.spotify.com/user/crookednate/playlist/15z4IhAHdLFiFuDSg0sXs7

Leave a comment